rotary logoThe Rotary Club of Teluk Intan was chartered on 11 August 1952 as the Rotary Club of Teluk Anson, Federation of  Malaya, under Rotary International District 46. There were 25 charter members and the Charter President was Dr. Ibrahim bin Haji Mohd. Yassin, a dental officer with the Infant Welfare Centre, Teluk Anson. The club meetings were held at 1pm on Tuesdays, at the local Rest House. On the 3rd Tuesday of every month, there was a Dinner meeting at 8pm. The admission fee was M$20 and the annual membership fee was M$48.

The Sponsor Club was the Rotary Club of Ipoh and the District Governor’s Special Representative was its President Leong Min On. The District Governor at that time was Khoo Teik Ee.

In 1952, Teluk Anson, as the town was then called, had a population of 22,961. The Rotary Club was first organized on 4 March 1952. The club president applied for membership in Rotary International on 20 May 1952 and, in his recommendation to Rotary International on 7 June 1952,  the then District Governor of R.I. District 46, Eusoff, wrote:

The prospect of a Rotary Club was examined as early as 1951 during the Presidentship of H. Wakefiled of  the Rotary Club of Ipoh. An extension survey was carried out by President Leong Min On; he was assisted by H. Haines a Past District Governor (in China) now a member of the Rotary Club of  Ipoh. The inaugural meeting was attended by seven members of the Ipoh Club. I visited this Provisional (Club) on two occasions --- on the last one, I conducted a Club Forum. Teluk Anson is the Chief Port for the State of Perak and in a very important rubber planting area. It is about 70 miles from Ipoh. {sic}

Charter Members

  Names Classifications
1. Bennett, Dr. James Percy Medical Service – Hospital
2. Cheong, Pak Keen Wood Industry – Lumber Manufacturing
3. Chin, Dr. Kenneth H. Medicine – Physician, General Practise
4. Hassan bin Hussain Law – Judiciary
5. Hill–Willis, Christopher Hayne Harbour and Lighthouse Service
6. Ho, Eng Hai Medicine – Dental Surgery
7. Dr. Ibrahim bin Haji Mohd. Yassin Dental Officer
8. Morse, Ronald Geoffrey Food Industry – Rice Milling
9. Morton, Reginald John Rubber Industry – Crude Rubber Processing
10. Nadarajah, S. Animal Husbandry – Veterinary Medicine
11. Neubronner, D. W. Engineering – Marine Engineering
12. Ng, Kok Gnow Recreation – Ball Room
13. Ong, Teik Sim Electrical Industry – Electrical Equip. &  Supplies
14. Ooi, Beng Thuan Beverages – Alcoholic
15. Oon, Seng Teong Rubber Industry – Crude Rubber
16. Pyper, Hugh Richard Light and Power Service
17. Raja Ratnam, A.S. Government Public Revenue Service
18. Rajaratnam, Kathirithamby Hospital Services
19. Scholfield, Henry Charles Anthony  General Merchandise – Ex- & Importing
20. Smith, Stanley George Horticulture – Rubber Growing
21. Snead, Paul Kindig Religion – Christianity, Protestantism
22. Tan, Seng Teong Wood Industry – Forest Engineering
23. Tennent, Hugh John Engineering – Drainage & Irrigation
24. Wade, R.H.D. Finance – Banking
25. Wong, Toon Chew Construction Service – Architecture


Office Bearers:


Dr. Ibrahim bin Haji Mohd. Yassin

Vice-President: Pyper, Hugh Richard
Secretary: Tennent, Hugh John
Treasurer: Raja Ratnam, A.S.
Sergeant-at-Arms: Wade, R.H.D.
Directors: Chin, Dr. Kenneth H.
  Bennett, Dr. James Percy
  Ho, Eng Hai


Click on the front cover below to view the full book.